Supernatural In Review- O Brother Where Art Thou?

My thoughts. At last.

Geek Girls News

So first off, I’d like to establish that this review is going to be in no way rational or objective. (Are you really meant to be objective about SPN anyway? I don’t think so.) I’m going to have a little bitch about weird plot contrivances, but that aside, I thought it was kind of amazing.

And here’s why: despite my quibbles, which I’ll get to, this felt epic. It felt huge. The stakes are honestly high- and the ending had me upset literally for days. (I kid you not, I marched into my English class first period the next day and practically bawled out ‘SAM WINCHESTER IS BACK IN HELL.’)

The teaser was great. I love Emily Swallow as Amara- she’s ferocious and amoral and seductive, yet also strangely naive. Not naive in a bad way- like a wild animal.

Screenshot (241)Screenshot (242)

But in that first scene- that…

View original post 1,016 more words

4 thoughts on “Supernatural In Review- O Brother Where Art Thou?

  1. They really found some excellent actresses to play Amara as she evolved, grew, avatar’d.

    Poor Sam, he wanted so much to find benevolent help: to not need to make deals with one evil to battle a bigger evil. And for that he got suckered by the Father of Lies/Bringer of Light. Sam makes me think of the Soul Asylum song Runaway Train! and the line “this time I have really led myself astray.”

    It was a beautifully shot episode. I liked the cuts back and forth between Sam/Lucifer and Dean/Amara. Sam’s single man tear.

    Sam and Amara both looking for God: where is the bastard? Has He gone all Philip Pullman and decided to just die like some loser? What a douche to have as a prophet.

    Rowena getting wet for Lucifer, that’ll end well.

    Hey, I imagine that you have a holiday break coming soon. I hope you have a fun time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

