Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Ten

A Blog devoted to "SUPERNATURAL"

So first I must apologise for the extreme lateness of this post. Between Russian Revolution essays, Season Eleven, and screwing around on Tumblr, everything’s gotten a little out of hand.

1. Fan Fiction

spn1005_2501

Well, duh. To say that this is a meta episode doesn’t come close to describing it. It’s a lovely, melancholy catharsis, a celebration of how far we’ve come with the Winchesters- in many ways it’s a counterpart to A Very Supernatural Christmas, bookending the Samulet chronicle.

The beauty of the penultimate scene, where Dean hangs up the Samulet, can hardly be explained. It’s wistful yet completely content. There’s a different kind of poignancy here than, say, a Winchester death scene. But the whole episode has a richness of meaning that you really do have to be a devoted fan to understand; the whole thing is loaded with associations from previous years.

And in the context of everything…

View original post 1,001 more words

11 thoughts on “Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Ten

  1. Yet again, another great post! I think I agree with you really, fan fiction was one of my faves of all time, I actually missed the breaking of the 4th wall though, which really upset me lol!
    Reichenback (or wevs) was a good one, I enjoyed the way it cut back and fourth between JA and JP and how it looked. Awesome. Still think we should have had more deanmon though

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wren –

    Do you tweet? There are things that I tweet/forward to Sheila, Lyrie, Helena, and Paula that I think you might also like.

    If you don’t want to give your handle, you can just follow me and I’ll do the same for you. I’m pretty sure I’m the only mutecypher on Twitter.

    Maybe Twitter is just to 2008 for young folk like you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

