Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Seven

A Blog devoted to Supernatural

And whaddaya know- I’m back. Did you think I’d ditched you?

Over the past few weeks I’ve been working pretty hard, hence the sudden dropoff in posts. However, I’ll make sure I finish my Top Five series before Season Eleven gets here. (Also- that trailer. Wow.)

So, without further ado: Season Seven. My least favourite, actually, but I still rather like it. The leviathan stuff got so very plotty that I think it ended up detracting from the emotional impact of the season, though I love the Hallucifer arc to bits- and then the whole season was filmed in very un-SPNny primary colours. Supernatural, please don’t bow to the demands of your network. It’s terribly bad for you. (Insert Hollywood Babylon gif here. ‘Who says horror has to be dark?’)

1. The Born-Again Identity

SPN_0321

I realise I’m probably alone in this, but this episode’s one of my all-time favourites. So…

View original post 1,034 more words

5 thoughts on “Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Seven

  1. Favorites for season 7-
    1. Meet the New Boss- because Misha was brilliant
    2. The Born-Again Identity- Because Misha
    3. Reading is Fundamental- Because Kevin and Misha
    4. Death’s Door- because Bobby
    5. Plucky Pennywhistele’s Magical Menagerie- because Dean gets his slinky and Sam gets glitter all over him
    6. The Girl with the Dungeons and Dragons Tattoo- because Charlie. I love her forever

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some of Misha’s best work ever was the first Leviathan scene. When he looks at them and gives that crazy uncontrolled grin and goes ‘This is gonna be so. Much. Fun.’ Shivers. I saw a Tumblr post about how Misha’s ‘not actually a very strong actor’- I mean, what? I’m sorry? Are we watching the same show here?
      Hehe the slinky and the glitter. Love the title card for that ep.
      Misha ROCKED Reading Is Fundamental. I didn’t really take to Kevin til the start of s8, though- in s7 he just annoyed me. But from that bit in We Need To Talk About Kevin where he gives the demons that little evil smile and drops the match into the banishing spell- yeah. Team Kev all the way. (Also team Sam, Dean, Cas, Crowley, Charlie, Rowena, Bobby, so on and so forth, so…)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Always love your lists and you hit this right in the head. S7 had some amazing episodes and moments so I’m amazed when when people hate on it. Is it because the Leviathans were so systematic in their evil? Funny how the oldest evil (not counting The Darkness) was more like corporate hench men than some mythological other worldly creature. I love the change up to what it means to be evil and how it can be fought. Plus it gave us the immortal Dean line in the finale, “Are we gonna bone this nun?”

    Born Again Identity is one of my all-time series favorites and Death’s Door is devastating. Also thanks for including Plucky’s which had the best captions of any episode, announcing that Sam’s scene is happening “Right Fricking Now”. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂
      I totally agree- it may be my least favourite season (as a whole I don’t feel it quite hangs together) but some stuff blew me AWAY. And the acting and writing was, of course, spot-on.
      “Are we gonna bone this nun?”
      Classic.
      Oh gawd, aren’t Born-Again Identity and Death’s Door devastating? TBAI is quietly so- JP in his white hospital pyjamas flinching at loud noises- and Death’s Door… just… wow.
      OMG I forgot about the Plucky’s captions! So funny.

      Like

Leave a Reply

