Vivisecting Supernatural- Look, I Know She Killed Sam With A Drainpipe, But She Was Just Misunderstood

So, sorry for the delay between essays. I’ve been extremely busy the past few days, and not just with invading hordes of flesh-eating arachnids.

normal_supernatural108-000902

Flesh-eating arachnids? Sounds familiar

Anyway, these essays are only going to get less frequent, since I’ve now committed to starting five A-levels next week. (God knows what possessed me. It’s not like I need to sleep or anything.) So without further ado, let’s talk about Anna.

spn421_1061

Anna was, I believe, the third angel we met, after Cas and Uriel. I found her entrance in I Know What You Did Last Summer to be slightly overshadowed by JP’s performance as a distraught, bottle-pitching Sam, but in the next episode, Heaven And Hell, the floor is hers. And Dean’s. (I wrote about their sex scene in connection with Dean’s time in Hell here.)

spn410_0940

Anna’s a rebel. She’s flying a flag for humanity, and Dean needs someone, at that point, to remind him of why being human is worth the trouble.

Dean: Why would you fall? Why would you want to be one of us?

Anna: You don’t mean that.

Dean: I don’t? A bunch of- miserable bastards. Eating, crapping, confused, afraid.

Anna: I don’t know. There’s loyalty. Forgiveness. Love.

Dean: Pain.

Anna: Chocolate cake.

Dean: Guilt.

Anna: Sex.

Dean: Yeah, you got me there.

In an episode full of contradictions- ‘a angel and a demon riding in the backseat’, Godzilla and Mothra- this is the greatest one of all. An angel teaching a human how to feel human again.

spn410_1000

For most of Season Four, this is Anna’s role; she’s the ultimate defector, and tries to teach Cas humanity as well. Ironically, as his humanity grows, he betrays her by handing her over to Heaven, just as Dean seemingly betrayed her in Heaven And Hell.

spn410_1352

Is anyone else getting Judas vibes?

This, then, is Anna’s destiny- to be betrayed by the people she taught humanity, perhaps implying that humanity itself is what inevitably leads to betrayal.

SPN_1027

Yeah, Fate’s a bitch.

Yet Anna herself refuses to go down that road. When she’s human, she’s steadfast in her loyalty to Sam, Dean, Cas. It’s only when she’s been re-angelified that she kills Sam with a length of rusty pipe, which of course makes it all okay.

spn513-1068

And in Dean’s eyes, killing his little brother really was the ultimate in betrayal.

Anna’s oft-described as a ‘fallen angel’, too. Yet it’s when she’s in her fallen state that we see her with the magnificent trappings of angelhood- from the tree that grew from her grace, to her true form at the end of Heaven And Hell.

spn410_1491

When she’s supposedly a ‘proper’ angel again, in Season Five’s The Song Remains The Same, that’s when we see her crash-landed on a car, truly fallen from the sky, unconscious and bleeding. It’s not only foreshadowing. She only seems like a fallen angel when she’s back under Heaven’s wing. Perhaps the implication is that we are never truly fallen until we’re betrayed- or betray.

spn513-0200

The Anna Unappreciation Thread can go screw itself. I like her.

62 thoughts on “Vivisecting Supernatural- Look, I Know She Killed Sam With A Drainpipe, But She Was Just Misunderstood

  1. I understand why people don’t like her, it’s also their prerogative, but personally I always liked her.
    I loved her introduction as a mental patient drawing the stained-glass window of a church and listening to voices only she can hear. As we got to know her, I found her endearing. I liked her backstory of the angel who turned herself into the gift a desperate human couple had been praying for. I liked her instant connection to Dean. The conversations she was listening to were all about him and how he was “saved”. The second he called her 1 800 ANGEL with that twinkle in his eye, and she smiled and blushed, I could see the sparks flying.

    “Angel Food Cake” as Uriel calls her, was deeply compassionate towards him, at a time he desperately needed it. He also needed forgiveness even if he wasn’t going to dare ask for it or even thought he deserved it. She offered it to him. She wanted some “chocolate”, he was happy to oblige ;). They had a nice little thing going. He didn’t enjoy giving her up to Uriel but he had to.

    Hannah coming back with the intention to kill Sam after she was handed to Heaven’s torture program by Castiel makes perfect sense. Wasn’t Castiel ready to wash his hands off humans and their problems after he got a taste himself? Heaven’s torture was obviously meant to reprogram free-thinking angels and get them back in line in the case of Castiel and Hannah. Heaven was also divided between the supporters and detractors of the apocalypse. Surely, eliminating Lucifer’s vessel would strike you as a logical solution when you’re trying to avoid the apocalypse and all of humanity going down in flames.

    One Human to save billions of them? How can she be blamed for agreeing it wasn’t a terrible idea, AFTER being reprogrammed? Makes sense to me. Of course it was going to fail as this show does not exist without Sam (nor should it) but it would have been weirder to me if not ONE angel tried to eliminate Sam considering the danger he represented at the time. Her decision makes as much sense as Gordon’s in S2. If eliminating Stan’s vessel can slow Satan down, why not give it a try, especially if you have no particular loyalty to Sam? That’s plain common sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    • EXCATLY! She got so much shit in the fandom and it was basically because she’d been tortured and brainwashed- because CAS betrayed her, but you don’t see him getting blamed, do you? And then when Cas got the same brainwash treatment in s8 he tried to kill Dean as well, but no, he’s the precious fandom cupcake. (I mean, I love Cas too, but still. ANNA.)
      What did you think of the way the angels were used in s9? I wasn’t so keen on that.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “What did you think of the way the angels were used in s9? I wasn’t so keen on that.”

        Aside from Gadzikiel (who I loved whether he was in Jared or in Tahmoh), I didn’t care for the angel storyline in S9. A bunch of corporate mannequins fighting for the corner office. What was the point of Bart? Anyway, I checked out after the show massacred Hael and tossed her like a broken ragdoll on the side of the road. Then angels were getting shanked left and right and blathering about… something, lol. Then the mythology decided that reapers were angels all along… You’re the boss, Jeremy.

        I haven’t cared about the angel storyline since S8. I now consider it a storyline stretched out in order to give Castiel his solo arc, which fine, he needs something to do, the same way Crowley needed Rowena to kill time when he wasn’t with the brothers.

        Unless the angels are fighting to jump the Winchesters bones or have the charisma of Zachariah, Gabriel and Michael, I don’t really care what they do. I do like Metatron though. There’s like one other person with me on that tiny island lol, and that’s Ikeke. I found Metatron annoying at first but he totally grew on me during The Hunter Games and he kept me thoroughly entertained in The Inside Man. I’m no longer clamoring for his head on a pike 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • I totally agree. I liked it in s8, and didn’t mind it in s10- I loved Inside Man- but s9? Naw. Please. The Winchester relationship is disintegrating and you want me to care about THIS?
          Didn’t care for Hannah either. But I adore Gadreel. Just, agh.
          And I will join you on your tiny island! He annoys the shit out of me but he is just kind of grossly loveable at the same time. And he was so funny in Book Of The Damned.

          Liked by 1 person

              • Aah… sweet flip flopping Hannah…
                I like the character. Like I wrote on the IMDb thread today, I attribute it to Erica Caroll who’s a likable woman and actress. As a short-term character created to occupy Castiel on his road trip, I feel they didn’t spend too much time on her motivations. She flipped flopped in service of the plot lol.

                I still like her. She wasn’t impressed with the Winchesters, and she was all about the angel business. She looked at humans as puzzling curiosities but she found it in her heart to care about them. I liked that she cared that her vessel was miserable and made a conscious decision to free Caroline because she wanted Caroline to live her life and reunite with those who loved her.

                Hannah had a gentle aura about her whether she was in her female vessel or her male vessel.
                I think she wanted to do right and she aligned herself with whoever she thought was right at the time. Angels struggling to find their footing when they don’t have a leader is not exclusive to Hannah but she quickly found her sea legs and man, did she step up to the plate in Heaven. “Smoothest it’s run since God cut the ribbon on the pearly gates.” She’s doing a better job than God! 🙂

                Liked by 1 person

                • Hmm. I just wondered, bc I couldn’t get a handle on her myself, though I liked how her arc ended, with her giving the woman her body back, and I liked her coming back in a male body.(And I think the scene where she talks to Metatron is awesome. Very Silence Of The Lambs.)
                  What did you think of Cole? I have issues with the character- I can’t believe that Dean wouldn’t hunt down and disembowel anyone who even tried to torture Sam- but he grew on me during The Things They Carried, even if the arc was a little sideways. I do like him as a new addition.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • “What did you think of Cole?”

                    I liked Cole in the beginning. I enjoyed him in Black and Reichenbach, a LOT. I thought he was outstanding in Girls x3. Things fell apart for me in Things We Carried. First, Things We Carried is one of my least favorite episodes of S10. Not only did I not like the Khan Worm the first time around, I also didn’t care for the entire Cole-centric military storyline or the supporting characters on that episode.

                    It also became the Cole show. Too much Cole. Popping everywhere, getting in the middle of everything, taking up all this screen time while Sam was baby sitting the victim of the week. Then he really annoyed me with the Sammy-boys and the Dean-os. Buddy, you just got here. Chill. He got way too comfortable, way too quick and took up way too much space for my liking. He’s that guest who has his dirty boots on your coffee table the second time he visits your house. N—no. If they can use him again like they did in Black and Reich, where he was a positive addition and didn’t try to take over the show and turn the Winchesters into his back up singers, or in Girlsx3 where he had a great emotional arc and meaningful interaction with the brothers that wasn’t all about him, I’m fine with Cole coming back in S11.

                    “I can’t believe that Dean wouldn’t hunt down and disembowel anyone who even tried to torture Sam”
                    That ship sailed since Dean didn’t let Castiel rot after Castiel broke Sam’s wall and condemned Sam to the most slow, painful and tortuous death.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • I have Issues with TTTC, though I liked the khan worm both times round (though why kill Rufus? Really, Sera, really?).
                      AND OMFG DOES THIS MEAN YOU SHARE MY HELL WALL ISSUES
                      CAUSE I HAVE SUCH ISSUES
                      WITH THAT FREAKIN HELL WALL

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Five | A Blog devoted to "SUPERNATURAL"

    • Yeah, and it wasn’t exactly her fault. I mean, it’s hard to like someone who’s trying to kill the entire Winchester family, granted, but I think people should remember that it was CAS’s fault she was brainwashed into that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “why kill Rufus? Really, Sera, really?).”

    Ugh, I know. I loved Rufus so much. I think she killed him because it’s the only way she could use it in Death’s Door. She also had this plan of decimating the Winchesters’ world. Rufus and Bobby were the veteran team and based on their vision, that dynamic duo had to go.

    “AND OMFG DOES THIS MEAN YOU SHARE MY HELL WALL ISSUES
    CAUSE I HAVE SUCH ISSUES
    WITH THAT FREAKIN HELL WA”

    LMAO!!!!!!! What are you hell wall issues, dear. Let us talk 😀
    And yes, I have some hell wall issues too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I get about Death’s Door… that was great.
      And just… it was such a great arc… and throughout season eight- or s9 really- it’s never referred to. Not once. And Cas is just like, totes forgiven. Like, WHAT.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree. It was such a missed opportunity. Sam’s hell wall issues could have been used to explain how the compounded effect of Dean’s disappearance and hell wall trauma sent Sam into a tail spin that lead to him to lock himself in an imaginary world to cope.
        As for Castiel, he’s the reason I don’t care for the Purgatory storyline. All that fuss over someone who exploded your brother’s skull? Meh.

        Liked by 1 person

        • See, I like the Purgatory storyline (mainly because of the cinematography of the flashbacks. don’t judge me), but I have the same issue with Cas. Like, yeah, I get that he tried to fix it… but he didn’t even have to do it in the first place. He could have just put them in a green room. Or in a different country. How vindictive and how clever to drive Sam mad, knowing that he’d bring Dean down with him. So so nasty.

          Liked by 1 person

          • “See, I like the Purgatory storyline (mainly because of the cinematography of the flashbacks. don’t judge me)”
            Hehe, I don’t. I know you’re our cinematography expert on Brothers in Arms ;).
            I did like the Benny part of Purgatory, I mean the character. His return was the cherry on top of The Werther Project sundae.

            ” but I have the same issue with Cas. Like, yeah, I get that he tried to fix it… but he didn’t even have to do it in the first place. He could have just put them in a green room. Or in a different country. How vindictive and how clever to drive Sam mad, knowing that he’d bring Dean down with him. So so nasty.

            Liked by 1 person

                • “So how do you feel about Cas at the moment? Still have those issues?”

                  I’m over the hell wall issue because there are so many other issues with the character now. He’s a wank magnet and I find his effect on fandom unpleasant and exhausting. I’ve had no use for him since Swan Song. The producers wanted to write him off after that (S6/7) and I personally find that his presence is no longer organic in the story. The angel war arc is also constantly revived to give him something to do. He doesn’t bother me on screen, he’s relatively harmless especially in the latest seasons as he’s had a lot of solo scenes I can fast forward through on re-watch. Production-wise, I understand the impact of the fan base and the need to increase the regular’s (Castiel and Crowley) storylines in order to give Jared and Jensen more time off. Creatively, I don’t see the point of him. It’s fine though, he was never my focus to begin with.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • I try to stay out of the wanky bits of fandom, though I still occasionally trip over a bit of Destiel shit. I enjoyed Cas in seasons 4-8, and I didn’t mind the human arc in s9, but the whole bureaucratic angel war thing bored me to death. And I HATE HATE HATE that moment in Reichenbach with the little girl and him talking about snot rockets. Revolting. And yet that’s been giffed all over the place.
                    I did like him more towards the end of s10, particularly in Book Of The Damned. Him recovering his grace was the first time I actually got a thrill out of Cas in ages. I’m also looking forward to the zombie dog thing.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • “I try to stay out of the wanky bits of fandom”

                      Wise policy.

                      ,”And I HATE HATE HATE that moment in Reichenbach with the little girl and him talking about snot rockets. Revolting. And yet that’s been giffed all over the place.”

                      I think it’s because a lot of Cas fans found the scene endearing. They like that he’s gentle with kids and loves animals. There’s a whole Cas-guinea pig obsession going on.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Yeah, that’s what I can’t really get on board with. I mean, great if that does it for you personally, you know? But I just think back to Season Four and it’s like, seriously? I mean, I love stuff like him getting drunk in s5 and trying and failing to play ‘bad cop’ in Hunteri Heroici, but stuff like that… I can’t handle it.

                      Liked by 1 person

  4. “I am also a simple giri. Let’s start a simple giri club.”

    Lol! Wren, you took that misspelled ‘i’ and ran with it. It’s okay. As punishment, I’ll call you giri once in a while. …Yeah, it’s not really a punishment. More like a secret handshake 😉

    “And yes. It was needed so badly after the destruction of s9.”

    And I drank it like I’d been in the desert for 40 days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! We can be giris together.
      And same, Virile Manifestation, same. It makes me wonder if they deliberately withheld it so long just to make it extra-satisfying in the end. There was a lot that was clumsy about Brother’s Keeper, I think, but at the same time it was so great as a fix-it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ” It makes me wonder if they deliberately withheld it so long just to make it extra-satisfying in the end. There was a lot that was clumsy about Brother’s Keeper, I think, but at the same time it was so great as a fix-it.”

        I agree, it wasn’t the smoothest episode and the cantina scene had its rough and awkward moments but I was satisfied with the message we were with at the end. Sam stood by Dean until the end and their bond was strong enough to break the hold the Mark had over Dean.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Well, I really liked the motel-trashing scene, the ‘close your eyes’ scene, and everything involving Death. I just thought the vamp case was necessary. I mean, they shouldn’t- in the finale- STILL have to prove that the Mark is changing Dean. I was persuaded of that from that bit in Dark Dynasty where he went all creepy on Sam and started questioning him about the Book.
          And what was with Crowley’s mummy-doesn’t-love-me speech? Just… no. That’s what subtext is for.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

