Vivisecting Supernatural- SamJess, The First Ghost Ship

The good ship SamJess went up in flames on its first voyage, unfortunately. Jessica Moore died at the end of the Pilot- as my ten-year-old brother asked me, ‘What’s with all the ladies on fire on the ceiling?’

SPN_1067

This being Supernatural, Jess went on to put in two more appearances- in What Is And What Should Never Be, as part of Dean’s dream that Sam be happy, and in Free To Be You And Me, when Lucifer appeared to Sam as Jess.

In the Pilot, on discovering that Jess was unaware of Sam’s machete-wielding past, Dean said to Sam, ‘Sooner or later, you’re going to have to face up to who you really are.’ Sam presented a version of himself to Jess that wasn’t exactly a facade- I don’t get the sense that he lied to her, except by omission- but it was certainly cleaned up. The Sam that Jess knew would never be able to torture a demon inside a human body, or slowly behead a vampire with razor wire. Sam is able to act as Dean’s moral compass when Dean gets a little trigger-happy- see Faith, Croatoan, Stairway To Heaven- but Sam only goes off the rails when Dean’s not around, and then he’s worse than anyone.

Sam is aware of this, of the darkness in him. Perhaps the reason he liked being with Jessica was because with her, he didn’t feel like a ‘freak’. And when she died he realised that his past had followed him home; he could never truly be that person.

There are some people in our lives who make us feel like better versions of ourselves. It’s clear that Jess did that for Sam, and Jess became, over the seasons, a kind of symbol of everything Sam had lost- including that person he was when he was with her. I think that’s something a lot of people can relate to.

SPN_1107

SPN_1110

Why was it, then, that Lucifer appeared as Jess in Free To Be You And Me? At that point, Sam, who blamed himself for the apocalypse, had left Dean to go and become a bartender. One night he woke to find Jess next to him.

SPN_0006

SPN_0009

The first two times I watched this scene, it didn’t affect me in the slightest. The third time, I was in tears, mostly because of this shot, and the awful vulnerability of it.

SPN_0010

The way the scene’s set up, at first you’d think it was a dream sequence- it’d hardly be the first time Sam’s nightmares involved Jess. By then she has acquired the status of a dream to him; another show might have launched into a sex scene at this point, but instead you get the sense that Sam’s worried if he touches Jess she’ll disappear.

SPN_0067

Lucifer, by appearing to Sam as the representation of the normalcy he lost, is showing Sam that he can give him anything. Of course, Sam doesn’t back down. By then the Winchesters were probably suspicious of deals that sounded too good, anyway.

SPN_1014

But the scene could also be read as Lucifer corrupting what Sam previously thought of as an incorruptible dream. Jess had become sacred to Sam by then; previously she’d never appeared except in the context of the normal world. In WIAWSNB, she practically personified it.

220Supernatural0594

Here, though, she’s Lucifer. Anything can be stained.

SPN_1094

And yet despite that ruination, she’s still a beacon. Later in Season Five Sam finds out that Brady, an old schoolfriend of his, was the demon who killed Jess, and it wasn’t just him- many of his friends and teachers were demons too. But Jess was the closest to him, and seemed to be practically the only one who remained unpossessed. (For all we know, Rebecca Warren from Skin was secretly Beelzebub).

Jess was a symbol, but she was more than that; she was one of the first tragedies of the story, a person who was loved and lost, and her death is still referred to once or twice a season. The writers understand her importance- and we know very little about her as a person, but somehow we don’t have to to understand the impact she’s had.

SPN_0135

(Note: I was planning on using this screencap. Then I realised whose hand that was.)

SPN_0097

62 thoughts on “Vivisecting Supernatural- SamJess, The First Ghost Ship

  1. This touched me & made me understand things so much more. Loved it. I think in a way the ruination of Jess was always on Sam’s mind. Because there have been instances where people he trusted got possessed & attacked him or Dean. There would be a possibility that at some point in time if Jess hadn’t died & Sam had gone on hunting trips and managed to keep her in the dark, she would get possessed one way or another

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Completely off topic, but I thought I’d still mention it: Why is it that only through this post I realized that Jess’ actress is Bobbie Morse in Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.? 😀 I just looked at the screen cap and my mind went: Bobbie? o.O
    She never quite captured me as Jess, but she’s amazing as Bobbie (on a side note – if you don’t watch that show: Her love interest is called Hunter).

    I kind of think Jess (and Mary) were put on too high a pedestal for my taste. In Mary’s case I was glad to find out about her deal with Azazel and that she wasn’t as pure as she’d always seemed. But Jess is still as you said, that beacon of pureness, even though she is a little tarnished by the endless “What if?” possibilities and Lucifer posing as her, but still not really back down to earth like Mary, if you understand what I mean…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t seen Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, is it good?
      They were- and are- put on an immensely high pedestal, and I liked the revelations about Mary too.
      I wasn’t a fan of Jess at first either, but I’ve grown to like her on rewatches- Palicki’s portrayal isn’t idealized at all, or condescending. She’s very warm and clearly assertive.

      Like

      • It takes some time to pick up its pace, but mainly due to its involvement with the main MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe), as they had to wait a couple of episodes until Captain America: Winter Soldier aired. It has ups and downs, but definitely some interesting characters and good ideas. You should give it a chance, if you like that kind of stuff. 🙂

        It’s not really her portrayal in the scenes she actually plays, I get the warmth part there. It’s more the way they – especially Sam – see(s) her after her death that kind of takes away from that. I’m not sure, but I feel like it bugs me most that even ten years later they still make those throw away lines referring back to her. I know it hurts to lose someone you love, believe me I do, but the way this is handled in some situations just feels weird in a “we haven’t mentioned Jess in a while, let’s have Sam still have a reaction to thinking about her”. It takes time to get over something like that, especially if you are pretty much responsible for the others passing, as Sam is, but it still feels poorly executed at times… It’s hard to explain…

        Liked by 1 person

        • Hmm, I see what you’re saying, but I never really saw it as throwaway as such. It was such an important death- a plot trigger and hugely personal at once- that it couldn’t just go unmentioned. It’s similar to how John and Mary Winchester, even though they’ve not been seen in years, are all over the show still.
          The only time I recall thinking it was poorly executed was in Bloodlines, and that was because of the whole Ellis parallel. But I HATED Bloodlines- it’s the only episode I’ve only seen once.

          Like

  3. Wren, this is a great post! I didn’t get around to commenting when I liked but I’m here now lol. I had to have a rethink while I was reading and I was imagining the scene and youre so right, you can see he’s scared to touch her, you hit the nail on the head, I didn’t think much of it on first view but having a bit of insight has helped me better understand. I’m looking forward to rewatching stuff now :0)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Wren’s Top Five Episodes Of Season Five | A Blog devoted to "SUPERNATURAL"

Leave a Reply

