Vivisecting Supernatural- The Problem Of Destiel

By request of By Hook Or By Book – Book Reviews, News, And Other Stuff.
Obviously, whether you ship Destiel or not is purely down to personal interpretation. I’m sure that most of you have come across piles of meta explaining why Destiel is logical, and even canonical. If you want that sort of thing, google it. This meta is to explain, among other things, why I don’t think the writers are queerbaiting, and why I personally would prefer Destiel to stay as subtext.
Please note that while I’m happy to discuss things if any of you have different opinions, I’m certainly not trying to invalidate anyone else’s take on these issues.
Firstly- what, precisely, is queerbaiting? Wikipedia says ‘the term refers to what happens when people in the media add homoerotic tension between two characters to attract more liberal and queer viewers with the indication of them not ever getting together for real in the show’.
I think there are problems associated with identifying what’s referred to as queerbaiting, just like there are problems with defining sexism using the Bechdel test. Because there’s an unspoken sexual level to a same-gender relationship does not necessarily mean the show is queerbaiting- the assumption is that the two things are mutually inclusive.

casnervousgulp

As an example, look at the 1960 film The Private Life Of Sherlock Holmes. Billy Wilder fully intended there to be homoerotic subtext to Holmes and Watson. He also fully intended it to be unspoken, and indeed it is possible to watch the film without even registering it. It’s up for interpretation, and that’s the beauty of it- because it’s easy to form opinions when everything is canonical and out in the open, but the different ways people choose to interpret something are endlessly revealing.

tumblr_mk5pplfv1y1r1t8t7o1_1280

One of the great beauties of Supernatural is its subtlety. Character arcs play out over long seasons, and sometimes go for episodes without being mentioned. When John whispered into Dean’s ear in In My Time Of Dying, we did not find out until Hunted- nine episodes later- what he said. And yet over those nine episodes Ackles was playing that whisper- you can see it in the way he looks at Sam.
Similarly, when the Soulless Sam arc began, it took seven episodes to find out what was wrong with Sam. But right from the end of Swan Song, Padalecki plays that wrongness. It’s all over him- the look on his face when Dean hugs him, his casual laugh when Dean tries to get him to discuss Hell in Exile On Main St- and yet his speech, his gestures, are still profoundly Sam.
All these things are fully visible and acknowledged without a word being said. Just like the relationship and subtext between Cas and Dean.

tumblr_lyo9gmZhfQ1qfvteso2_500

I think an issue here is that many fans assume these actors do not know what they are doing, what effect they’re producing. This is bullshit- acting is about making choices about how to respond to everything, and both Ackles and Collins are excellent actors. They know exactly how it looks. They’re aware of their subtext. And they play it. They don’t play it with huge amounts of angst- it’s sometimes awkward, sometimes exasperated, sometimes affectionate- but it’s there. And it feels real because of the awkwardness and exasperation and affection that that subtext contains.
Of course, you could argue that in all those other character arcs- John’s whisper, Sam’s Soullessness, etc- these were all eventually made text, acknowledged. But Destiel has been acknowledged. Balthazar saying ‘the one in the dirty trenchcoat who’s in love with you’ is pretty much as ‘acknowledged’ as something gets. Not to mention-

zlvmyq

tumblr_n8x5xeYdWR1spluvzo7_250

tumblr_inline_n8z8niq9Jk1su3dyc

tumblr_mdj5si85zA1rj9apfo2_500

And then of course we have the total acknowledgement of Destiel in Fan Fiction- J.A breaking the fourth wall to give a look to the camera afterwards-

normal_spn1005_0839

normal_spn1005_0859

Make of that what you will.
And in fact, if the writers are queerbaiting with Destiel, what makes the Wincest situation any different? Because there’s clear subtext there, as well, however you want to interpret it- Barnes and Demian in The Real Ghostbusters, the famous face-grab in Playthings, and pretty much the entirety of Sex And Violence, to begin with. Not to mention Sam and Dean constantly being compared to married couples. But, hey, the CW never throws the brothers into bed, therefore it must be queerbaiting, right?

tumblr_nn8zfewYUR1qari1to2_500

But somehow, no-one ever seems to think so. Possibly because non-Wincest shippers, which compose most of the fandom, don’t actually want Sam and Dean to get it on. Apparently it’s only queerbaiting if you want the ship to happen.
Honestly? I think accusations of queerbaiting can be damaging to shows like this. It’s as if suddenly two men are not allowed to look longingly at each other without consummating the love that must therefore exist. Accusations like this are what leads to closed-mindedness- like, because this couple are not canonically together, this show is automatically terrible. Somewhere along the line, it has become not okay for subtext to be unconsummated. We’re being given a checklist of things that art must contain. When accusations get out of hand, it leads to the neutering of art.
Another issue that I have with the queerbaiting problem is that people seem to subsequently assume that gay people will only watch shows that contain gay couples. As a person whose entire friendship group seem to have turned out to be gay, I can verify, for those of you who were previously unware, that this is not in fact the case. What a surprise.

tumblr_mbcs1vOkRV1qhb554o3_500

tumblr_mbcs1vOkRV1qhb554o1_500

Most of the frustrated Destiel shippers I know are straight. By definition, queerbaiting is to get gay people to watch the show. Apparently it works on all sexualities. Who knew, huh?
Of course, I’m biased. Because I like the unspokenness of it. I like being able to look at a Cas and Dean scene and unpick it for myself, without the text whacking me over the head with a canon relationship . They leave it to the performances, mostly.
SPN has always been about the grey areas of morality, masculinity- and, it seems, sexuality. Dean in particular flirts with both men and women to get information, is constantly sexualised by monsters, and in Everybody Hates Hitler is visibly disappointed when Aaron’s ‘gay thing’ turns out to be a coverup for Aaron tailing him.
So much about the characters’ choices and behaviour can be interpreted, re-interpreted, examined and yet nobody is wrong and nobody is right, because it’s all subtext. If Destiel was text, would there be such piles of meta- some terrible, some excellent, all art- arguing back and forth about it? Of course not. It’s the unspoken things that inspire creativity in fans. It’s the unspoken things that attract fans, especially the perverse teenagers like me who actually prefer the whole desperately unspoken aspect just because it’s fascinating.

tumblr_inline_nn2m83Rj3d1syyouf_500

Perhaps this is where the queerbaiting accusations stem from. Destiel, as a ship, is obsessed over because it has such give to it. Unspokenness breeds fanfiction, meta, discussion. It allows their relationship to keep going, to not become stale. People become invested, involved. Maybe that is queerbaiting- but is it such a bad thing that people should care so much about their relationship? It’s only the same as with Sam and Dean themselves- their pain, all those glances back and forth at each other, basically fuel SPN.
To bottom-line it: if anyone thinks that without unspoken subtext we would still have a show, kindly raise your hand.

wHxE2

51 thoughts on “Vivisecting Supernatural- The Problem Of Destiel

  1. I do love the idea of Destiel. Though I can see a good point about it being unstated makes the show better. Not everything has to be defined in the show for it to be true. Plus you are correct that they are amazing actors who are playing their parts long before it is stated what they are going through.

    Like

    • Thanks! Another reason I didn’t bring in was that it would also take the focus of Sam and Dean, which could derail the entire thing- much as I love Cas, the story would survive without him, but it wouldn’t without the brothers’ relationship.
      Not to mention that at this stage if Destiel became canon the writers would be seen as pandering to the fans. Damned if they do… queerbaiting if they don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

        • Of course- we’ve become complicit in their codependency. We WANT them to need each other. There is just such a wrongness about those scenes where one of them is dead- the start of Exile On Main St, or those painful flashbacks in I Know What You Did Last Summer, for example.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Also as Pansexual I can attest that I watch shows with straight people in them and I don’t watch all gay shows. I choose a show by how it interests me and speaks to me. Now if you want to Queer bate, just roll me in honey and throw me to the lesbians. 😛

    Like

  3. Yes! Thank you for some much needed rationality! When I first heard about Destiel, I remember thinking “wait, What?” Maybe I’m completely out there, but I’ve always seen Castiel as a third brother.I do understand how much people love them though, and because of that want to add more subtext. I did love how they poked fun at Destiel in the musical episode. Especially the conversation between Sam & Dean.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The beauty of subtext is that you can interpret it whichever way you want and nobody’s wrong. They’d lose that fluidity if it was canon. I myself mildly ship it, but I get why you don’t- and you’re not that out there, I know others who think the same.
      That entire episode. Gorgeous. And Sam going ‘Sastiel? Samstiel?’
      Since that moment I confess to a certain affection for Sastiel.
      Glad you liked!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t see it as queerbating either, in fact, I don’t even see the romance-part in their relationship… I don’t know why, but for me they just have a very close relationship, where one would sacrifice whatever is necessary to save or protect the other (hence my disappointment in the lack of Castiels involvement in the finale..), but I have ranted about this on my own Blog before and don’t want to just copy that stuff here, so have a Link (that hopefully doesn’t turn out like the last one and spans only across the actual word and not the whole paragraph…).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great, I’ll go read.
      I think they wanted to take the heat off Cas and Dean’s relationship for a while- possibly because of all the accusations being flung around. Obviously, everyone’s free to view it differently- subtext can be interpreted however- and this is what some shippers don’t seem to get.
      I do like the recent development of Sam and Cas’s relationship, however. That scene in First Born with Cas sticking the giant needle in Sam’s neck… intense.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Taking off the heat is one thing, but changing the entire narrative of the overall Season and switching it around during the last few episodes a completely different one…but that’s beside the point.

        I’m not sure if they don’t get it, but at least some of them don’t want to accept that other people interpret it differently and want to convert them to their true view of the whole thing.

        I’m not entirely sure, if Cas would do the same things he’d be willing to do for Dean, for Sam. He’d do a lot, but I doubt everything.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I think the scene with Dean beating Cas up made up for a lot in terms of what was lacking there. Cas saying ‘I’m the one who will have to watch you murder the world’… wow. That really hit home.
          And yes- some people are practically religious about these ships. I realise a lot of these people are probably twelve years old, but still- SPN is ABOUT these grey areas.
          And yes, I agree- but I do think their friendship is growing, and has been ever since Cas took on Sam’s Hell scars. I think him breaking the Hell wall and what came after was a pivotal point there.

          Liked by 1 person

          • That scene was awesome. It partly made up for the rubbish of the episode before that and fit into the narration, but everything else was just made up out of thin air…

            There are a lot of shippers that are beyond that age group, but I get your point. 😉

            There always was some kind of admiration from Sam towards Cas (as you also pointed out in your other post) and obviously respect, but the Book of the Damned/Mark-removal arc and all this working behind Deans back felt a bit more like Sam used Cas to get what he wanted (not being alone), regardless of what Cas had to do for it. Sure, Cas wanted to save Dean as well and let himself be used, but he has a history of being manipulated by people he trusted to do the right thing and following orders is still deeply ingrained in him and to me it feels as if Sam knowingly played to that and Cas’ loyalty towards Dean. And for me that is not a very good friendship…

            Like

            • So that was probably harsh on twelve-year-olds, but I’m a similar age group, so, you know, I feel entitled.
              I’ve not really made my mind up about the Stynes, tbh- I’ve only seen those episodes once. I did like the WAY they killed Charlie, without actually showing it- I think showing it would have bee anticlimatic. And that montage to the Patty Griffin song…
              It wasn’t really the mark-removal arc that I meant when I mentioned the Sam/Cas friendship- more the events of episodes like First Born and Inside Man, where I thought they did make a great team.
              To me it did feel like Sam was pushing Cas a little, particularly at the start of s10- not without good reason, but still. But I was more convinced of Cas’s own stake in saving Dean after the ‘I’m the one who will have to watch you murder the world’ speech.
              I think that speech may have been one of Cas’s finest moments, period. Such honesty there in the middle of all that buried pain and distrust that was floating around.

              Like

            • What were your issues with Dark Dynasty? There was some stuff about it that I really liked- I’ve only seen it once, but from what I recall- like that shot of the arm hanging from the chain- so grotesque and ridiculous. Loved it. And Dean’s creepy predatory behaviour around Sam when he’s asking him about the Book and then Sam’s phone rings and Dean’s all ‘if you answer that, so help me God’… it’s… really disturbing. A trope more often used for abusive marriage scenarios.

              Like

              • Cinematography-wise the episode was good, but my issues were with the narration itself.

                Including the Book was a good choice to get the means to an end with the Mark-plot, but for me it felt useless to include yet another sub-set of characters that just happened to be after the same book at the time Charlie was and were only there to be killed off anyway. They did the same thing with the Men of Letters, but they had way more substance and reason for existence than the Styne’s and served an actual purpose (contrast to Hunters, knowledge, etc.).

                If that wasn’t enough, they made the big reveal, that they weren’t just a wealthy dynasty of a-holes, no they were part of the family described in one of the most successful horror novels and prolong their lives and enhance themselves using other people’s body parts. For me that is really far fetched – and that says something judging from the shows concept – and just so out of context and necessity.
                Sure their surgeries and stuff were pretty interestingly portrayed, but that is about all of the positive things about them. (Personally it also bugs me that they have included that line about supporting the nazi party, but that’s just me being tired of that trope.)
                Also: I thought by now they would have looked through most of the stuff in the bunker, so why are they so surprised that there is an actual family Frankenstein?

                Apart from Charlie’s death being one of the worst decisions they ever made, I think they should have shown her fight or at least part of it. This way they made Charlie even weaker than she was already portrayed as. I mean she fought in Oz, heck, her bad-self held herself against Dean – not long, but at least for some time – and I don’t think she would just let herself get killed by some weirdo with stitches. Sure there was a difference in strength and vitality, but that bathroom looked like she didn’t even try and that is just infuriating.

                The interaction of the brothers was all right, can’t really argue with their dialogues and reactions, but all the other stuff just bugs me, as it feels so much like a last minute decision based on a whim (which it seemingly was in some cases if I’m not mistaken) and not something that was carefully thought up throughout/at the start of the Season.
                I mean they could have done so many different things to gain the same result, but they chose those and it’s just disappointing.

                Like

                • I think before I made up my mind I’d have to go rewatch those episodes, but from what I remember there was little or no foreshadowing about the Stynes- though there was plenty for Charlie’s death. Honestly I don’t have a problem with her being killed off- she was one of my favourite characters, but she had a great story arc, lasted longer than a lot of characters like Ash, Frank, Samuel, Pamela etc, and her death was an actual plot device- unlike, say, Ash’s death, which I found totally pointless.
                  My main issue with the Stynes is that I felt that plotline took itself just a little too seriously, though I liked the Cyrus stuff in The Prisoner. Usually these monster arcs are more stretched out and have space to breathe, as it were- this just felt a little bit crammed in.
                  I really liked how they were done in The Prisoner, though. Cyrus really brought the idea of the Styne family to life for me.

                  Like

                  • No, there wasn’t. They just turned up one episode.
                    The backstory stuff was interesting and I liked it too, but it would have worked way better, if Dean hadn’t killed them off in the very same episode (like you said: it needed space to breath). It just felt like a useless bit of information and therefore a useless addition to the cast. Even though they showed us, that Dean was beyond reasoning as he killed Cyrus for similar reasons as Cain (he has bad blood, therefore he must die).

                    Might be that her death is still a plot device, but one that was unnecessary, as the same thing could have been accomplished quite differently – like I described in the other comment.
                    Ash’s death was another plot device, as through that – and the destruction of the bar(?) – it was first made clear that the Demons were a threat to be reckoned with(, knew what the Winchesters were up to) and not just some puffy smoke. Same goes for Frank and the Leviathans.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • I hadn’t noticed the Executioner’s Song parallels before- good catch. I’d been too caught up in the Sam/Cyrus parallels.
                      Of course there are other ways they could have tipped Dean over the edge, though I can see why they used this particular one- the fans went over the edge right along with Dean.
                      It was the perfunctoryness of Ash’s death that bothered me- it was so random- and it didn’t have much impact on me in terms of showing us how dangerous demons were- Devil’s Trap did that just fine. Idk, it just felt unnecessary to me. Perhaps I just liked Ash too much.
                      I didn’t mind it so much with Frank as that death was the trigger for the Charlie plotline. Frank was one of the great redeeming features of s7 though- so utterly nutty. I mean, he had Tchaikovsky’s Waltz Of The Flowers playing when Sam and Dean first went to see him.

                      Like

                    • Tchaikovsky’s Waltz Of The Flowers? I missed that detail. I loved Frank //so utterly nutty// and yet so weirdly lovable. Hated to lose him but think you’re right in that it drove S7 events. Ash’s death on the other hand was unnecessary and felt like a last minute writers room decision on cleaning out the Roadhouse storyline.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    • Yes- it was so perfunctory, the way they killed him. And he didn’t even get a proper sendoff (until Dark Side Of The Moon, maybe) as his death was totally overshadowed by Sam’s at the end of the same episode.
                      I was even okay with Charlie dying, as it was a plot trigger (and well-foreshadowed). And with Ellen and Jo the whole point was the futility of their deaths- that they died for nothing- it was a huge part of the reason Dean nearly said yes to Michael.
                      But Ash’s death. No. Just no.

                      Liked by 1 person

        • Read your post and I absolutely see your point. I think by squashing that relationship into a ‘romance’ box you miss a lot of the other shadings… and yes, the show is great for showing people with deep bonds that aren’t romantic. I mean, the central relationship is brotherly. And look at Charlie. Kevin. Garth. Jody. Bobby.

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post and eloquent response to this. The art of subtlety. I am with you on how well JA and MC play the subtext. It is almost a strange compulsion by some people where they can’t allow subtle to exist, they see the signs and need to push it and make “the truth” clear for everyone.

    This subtlety is what makes for great books, television or movies, and why we can have meaty debates like this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! Would people be half so invested in Destiel if it were text? No way. And I suspect they know that- so maybe it is a sort of manipulation- but if you go down that road, basically everything they do to the characters is gross manipulation of the audience.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Vivisecting Supernatural- The Subversion Of Sex | cobwebqueen

  7. YES YES YEE ONE HUNDRED TIMES YES!! Everything I believe in Destiel as a ship is this. Every single word and thought is exactly the same and you put it across magnificently. Subtext creates a universe of creativity that canon does not. Canon is stale because how many times can one person write differently offscreen when the same thing is happening onscreen? Why is there little or no Ginny-Harry fanfic and TONS and I mean TONS of DRARRY? For the reason that it is subtext. Take the scene where Bellatrix throws Harry in front of Draco at Malfoy Manor after their capture and Harry’s face is all swollen. Draco knows it’s Harry without a doubt but tells Bellatrix otherwise. That in its own way is a way for fans and readers to interpret as love that Draco has for Harry. There is too much in subtext which is what makes ships FUN. Johnlock is no way in hell canon but you don’t see people stopping do you? It’s the little things that matter. The way Dean kept Cas’s dirty trenchcoat after he drowned in the lake, Dean giving Cas pointers for his date, Cas telling Dean he’d watch over him as he slept. I don’t think there’s any more I can say without repeating what you already said. I love this analyses of the show and it feels amazing to be able to discuss it here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OH MY GOD FREAKING DRARRY. And yes! Great point about the Darry vs Ginny/Harry. (I was never that invested in them tbh.) He and Draco have such an interesting relationship. And yes! Subtext is basically the glue that holds shows and films and books (and this blog) together.
      And Johnlock! I love Johnlock 🙂 The Sign Of Three finally convinced me to ship it.
      Also, did you know that apparently the same music played when Dean watched Cas through the shop window in 9×6 as when Sam watched Amelia in Citizen Fang?
      And thanks! Thanks so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • WOW! I’ll have to watch that episode again to make that connection. Subtext holds a lot of ships together and the sooner fans understand that the better.
        I would love to talk with you about other shows as well. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’d never, ever have made that connection myself- I saw a gif 🙂
          Ship wars will never end, but I’ve learned to find them entertaining…
          And go for it 🙂 I’m only just being inducted into TV. I’m watching Hannibal, I love Sherlock, I’ve seen three episodes of Once Upon A Time, I tried Elementary, I tried Dr Who very briefly. I was in all the book fandoms first, though. What about you?

          Liked by 1 person

          • Ship wars are entertaining until they get vicious & then it just hurts.
            I tried Hannibal but it didn’t work out for me. Love Doctor Who & Elementary. Enjoy Sherlock for Moriarty & Irene Adler. Arrow, Bones, Suits, the Flash, watching Torchwood which is a DW spinoff.
            For book fandoms I love the throne of glass series, Harry Potter, not so much the Mortal Instruments, Shatter Me series and a whole lot more that I can’t remember right now

            Like

            • Yeah, I’d heard horror stories that kept me out of fandoms for a long time. But hey, I’m here now 🙂
              I’m actually really into Hannibal. Idk, I’m a sucker for good filming. Elementary… I liked it okay, but I stopped after five episodes. I keep meaning to go back and watch it. Does it get better?
              I love everything Sherlock except that the ship Mystrade bewilders me.
              I haven’t watched Arrow- never heard of Suits, Bones or The Flash, but I know about Torchwood. For book fandoms- Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, kinda Divergent, anything Neil Gaiman, Gormenghast, I like The Mortal Instruments but The Infernal Devices is much better, Jonothan Strange & Mr Norrell, Sherlock Holmes, Inkheart, Reckless, The Hunchback Of Notre Dame, Artemis Fowl, Narnia, LoTR, Chaos Walking, it goes on. I’ve not heard of the Shatter Me series.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Elementary picks up a whole lot in late season one and the subsequent seasons. I don’t even know how Mystrade started.
                Suits is a lawyer show, Bones is a crime murder mystery show based on a book series by Kathy Reichs, The Flash is a spinoff of Arrow.
                Oh yeah! I love Neil Gaiman and LotR too. I’ve yet to read The Infernal Devices & Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell but they’re on my tbr. Loved Artemis Fowl except the last 2 books. Shatter Me is a YA dystopia. It’s really good you should pick it up

                Liked by 1 person

                • Oh, I’ll stick with it then. And yeah, Mystrade is the most random thing… they have one scene together and it lasts literally two seconds. And I used to think Sheriarty was odd.
                  Neil Gaiman is my #1 favourite author. Have you read Neverwhere? (Also, American Gods was part of the inspiration for SPN.)
                  The last two AF books were weird, but I liked them. And I really wasn’t expecting the ending, at which I cried my freaking eyes out.
                  I’ll have a look for it 🙂

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • I kinda liked Sheriarty a lot. I mean, I love Irene Adler. She’s ridiculously hot.
                    Yes! I love him too! I’ve read stardust, American gods, Good Omens, Sandman, fortunately the milk and the ocean at the end of the lane by him. Haven’t gotten to Neverwhere yet but I will soon. I didn’t know that but that’s cool!
                    I’ve yet to read the last AF book so, I’ll let you know my feels on it when I do.

                    Liked by 1 person

              • I totally agree.
                My friend told me about Mystraud and my first reaction was “you’re kidding, right?”
                Turns out she wasn’t, and we spent the rest of the day asking each other why.
                Apparently, if you ship Johnlock, you need some way to get rid of the spares, like the Destiel-Sabriel ship pairing.

                Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Anyone Got Any Ideas For Ship Metas? |

  9. If you’ve been to my blog you can tell I am a very passionate Destiel shipper…I just discovered this post of yours here and I gotta say a part of me can actually agree with it. Just the other day, I was thinking what would I do if I got explicit “canon” Destiel? I mean I could suffice for the two of them admitting to each other how much they love one another, but if it were further than that then what? I feel like I’d be so excited to see some grand kiss/confession scene but then I’d be like well damn, what now? It sort of feels like a double egded sword…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think another problem with making Destiel canon is that if they did, the Wincest shippers and so forth would probably get really pissy. And vice versa for basically any non-canon ship. So they’re kind of trapped.
      I just like that as it is now, all interpretations are valid because nothing is canon…
      Also, by witholding they keep everyone interested 🙂 like you said about the whole grand kiss/confession thing. I know what you mean 🙂

      Like

  10. Personally, I see Destiel as an unrequited love situation. Cas is in love with Dean but doesn’t quite know how to deal with it, and Dean mainly thinks of him as a close friend, like a brother on almost the same level as Sam.
    But I also totally agree with the fact that if it wasn’t subtext they wouldn’t know quite what to do with the relationship. The only way it could become canon would be towards the end of the series finale, and after that the non shippers would mutiny and probably storm the producers.

    On a another note:Thank you so much for writing these essays! I recently had to deal with something that made me wonder if I was in the wrong for loving Supernatural and your Vivisecting Supernatural series really helped me to affirm my belief.

    Like

    • i think that’s kind of a lovely way of looking at it, actually. but yes- it’s such a ridiculously divisive issue that they can’t really do anything with it at all by now.

      & thank you! i’d like to hear what that was- i had a similar issue myself a while back- but if you don’t want to share that’s cool. all i can say is that i see something profound in this show & i love that. i’m super super glad that this series (which, oh heck, i wrote this two years ago) has done that for you. thanks :3 &, um, sorry for the late reply, because i’m a terrible irresponsible human bean.

      Like

      • Totally fine.
        I was at a camp just before I wrote that, and there was a girl who was extremely vocal about her hatred for Supernatural. Being around her for a week and having to listen to her wonder why I liked Supernatural when it was such a terrible show and… not mock me, exactly, but close to it, every time I said anything about it wasn’t very good for my self-esteem or for the fact that I really do enjoy the show.
        Anyways, thank you so much for posting these essays. They’re really well-written and they really embody why I like this show. And it’s always nice to meet a fellow non-shipper who nevertheless sees the subtext.

        Liked by 1 person

        • tbh, if someone feels the need to be an asshole about something that really doesn’t matter that much, their opinion probably ain’t worth your time.

          thank you! if you want to read some really beautiful incredibly in-depth essays that do a wonderful job of unpacking why spn is so fascinating, i can’t recommend sheila o’malley’s recaps highly enough- she’s written ones for each episode up to ‘bad day at black rock’ thus far. here’s the link to the pilot one if you want to check them out-

          Like

Leave a Reply

